AGM 2018

AGM 2018

SCEFL Annual General Meeting


The Annual General Meeting of the League was held on Saturday 23 June 2018 at the Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel. Here is a summary of the Key Points of the event.

The League would like to thank their special guests for their attendance;

Phillip Smith, Kent FA Chairman and an FA Council Member

George Dorling, London FA Chairman and an FA Council Member

Louise Dorling, retired academic and FA Council Member

- The League Constitution for 2018-2019 was confirmed and is as follows;

Premier Division: AFC Croydon Athletic, Bearsted, Beckenham Town, Canterbury City, Chatham Town, Corinthian, Cray Valley PM, Crowborough Athletic, Croydon, Deal Town, Erith Town, Fisher, Glebe, Hollands & Blair, K Sports, Lordswood, Punjab United, Rusthall, Sheppey United, Tunbridge Wells.

First Division: Bridon Ropes, FC Elmstead, Erith & Belvedere, Forest Hill Park, Gravesham Borough, Greenways, Holmesdale, Kennington, Kent Football United, Lewisham Borough (Community), Lydd Town, Meridian VP, Phoenix Sports Reserves, Rochester United, Snodland Town, Sporting Club Thamesmead, Stansfeld, Sutton Athletic, Welling Town.

Congratulations were given to Sevenoaks Town and Whitstable Town for their promotions to the Bostik South East Division at Step 4.

Congratulations were given to Punjab United for their First Division Title victory and to K Sports and Fisher for their promotion to the Premier Division.

The League welcomed three new clubs to the First Division, Kennington FC, Greenways FC and Welling Town.

-SCEFL League Officers were elected and are as follows;

President - R.W. Brown

Chairperson - Ms. Denise Richmond

Vice Chairman - J Moules

Secretary/Discipline Officer - D Peck

Treasurer - L Dyson

Referees Officer - I Bentley

Fixture Officer - M. Panting

Registration Officer - D. Francis

- Election of Club Representatives to the Management Committee

Eligible without nomination : Premier Division –Frank May (Cray Valley PM), Roy Benton (Bearsted), Laurence Plummer (Hollands & Blair) Steve Lewis (Lordswood), First Division – Alf Levy (Phoenix Sports Reserves), Hugh Sullivan (Holmesdale), Terry Reeves (Snodland Town).

Nominations: Premier Division – Ian Birrell (Erith Town) - First Division – One vacancy

- To adopt Standardised FA Rules

League Rules were agreed upon and can be found here shortly. Special attention was brought to rule 6.4.2 where 16 players now need to be registered 14 days before the start of the season. The start of the season being 4th August 2018 for all clubs.

That concludes the summary of the key events from the AGM. Full details can be gained from the club representatives that were present and from the minutes which will follow.

League President - Ray Brown

The meeting began with the sad news of a serious road traffic accident that involved the League President Ray Brown. On Thursday 21st June he was involved in a collision that resulted in the need for him to be taken to Kings College Hospital by Air Ambulance from the scene in Dover. He has suffered multiple injuries and broken bones and will spend a time in hospital as he recovers from this devastating incident. As many of you will know Ray and care for his welfare we have provided the clubs with details of how to send their best wishes and will provide regular updates on his condition on the League Officers page here

'If you require Ray's address please contact Derek Peck at

League Awards

The afternoon concluded with the presentation of some End of Season Awards.

- Respect Award - First Division Overall Winner - Phoenix Sports Reserves

- Respect Award - Premier Division Overall Winner - Cray Valley PM

We are now in the process of organising the annual 'Roy Vinter Charity Shield' game between these two winners. The chosen charity supported will be, after recent events, Kent, Surrey and Sussex Air Ambulance.

- Best Club Compliance to League Rules - Joint Winners - Deal Town, Lewisham Borough (Community), Snodland Town.

- Best Hospitality - First Division - Punjab United

- Best Hospitality - Premier Division - Deal Town

Voted for by fellow clubs in their Division this award went to the teams that were most welcoming to the visiting sides and supporters. Deal Town dedicated the award to two of their team that had put in a large amount of hard work to make everyone welcome at The Charles Ground. Both have fallen on poor health recently and all at SCEFL wish them a speedy recovery.

- Manager of the Month (April/May) - First Division - Gary Abbott and Ricky Mitchell, Gravesham Boro

- Manager of the Month (April May) - Premier Division - Micky Collins, Sevenoaks Town

- Golden Boot - First Division - Tunde Aderonmu, Kent Football United

- Golden Boot - Premier Division - Richard Atkins, Beckenham Town

- SCEFL League Cup - Winners - Whitstable Town

Best of luck to all clubs competing in the SCEFL Divisions this Season. Initial fixture release has been pencilled in for 19th July ahead of the Season start of 4th August.